Employees applauded for stellar performance

Charles H. Strite, Jr.

Pictured here: Charles H. Strite, Jr., recipient of the Calendar Year 2011 Professional Medical Logisticians' Civilian Award.

The 70K Consultant to the Army Surgeon General announced Sept. 5, the three winners of the Calendar Year 2011 Professional Medical Logisticians' Leadership and Civilian Awards.

Winner of the CY11 PML2A was Maj. Aron Meadow, who currently serves at the U.S. Army Medical Materiel Center, Europe, a subordinate command of the U.S. Army Medical Research and Materiel Command located at Fort Detrick, Md.

Charles H. Strite, Jr., who currently serves as chief of the USAMRMC Enterprise Business office, Fort Detrick, Md., received the first of two Professional Medical Logisticians' Civilian Awards given. Mark Mills, current employee at the U.S. Army Medical Materiel Activity, another subordinate command of the USAMRMC also located at Fort Detrick, Md., took home the second.

Strite said he was absolutely surprised when he found out he was receiving the award.

The Professional Medical Logisticians' Leadership Award recognizes Army Medical Service Corps health services materiel officers, health services maintenance technicians, and medical logistics and biomedical equipment specialists who demonstrate exceptional skills and accomplishments in leadership, technical competence, professionalism, and patriotism.

The Professional Medical Logisticians' Civilian Award recognizes two civilian employees each calendar year, one employee between the grades of GS-09 and GS-14 as well as a second employee below the supervisory level, who demonstrate exceptional skill and accomplishments, technical competence, professionalism, and customer service.

"I am a 'rookie' as a civilian," Strite continued, "I started as a civilian in August 2010 after 28 years in the Army."

"I am honored and humbled by the selection," said Strite, and "I appreciate the recognition." However, Strite continued, "with any award, it is more about the people and relationships you have that make what successes you experience possible."

Each of the three awardees will receive a Memorandum of Commendation and coin from the Surgeon General, an Army Commendation Medal, and an OTSG/USAMEDCOM G-4 Letter of Appreciation and coin.

Back to top


Last Modified Date: 10-Sep-2012