USAMRICD holds First NCO Induction Ceremony

USAMRICD holds First NCO Induction Ceremony
The picture from left to right includes:
Sgt. Nydia Conder, Command Sgt. Maj. Michael Kelley, Sgt. Erin Bouligny, Sgt. Maj. Osvaldo Ponzo, Sgt. Zachary Phillips, Command Sgt. Maj. Rodney Rhoades, Sgt. Felix Huang.

The tradition of commemorating the passing of a Soldier to a noncommissioned officer can be traced to the Army of Fredrick the Great. Before one could be recognized on the full status of an NCO, they were required to stand four watches, one every four days. Although slightly different from yesterday’s traditions, the U.S. Army Medical Research Institute of Chemical Defense commemorated the rites of passage for NCOs. The ceremony emphasizes the pride that every Service member shares as a member of such an elite corps. It also honors the memory of those who have served before them with pride and distinction.

USAMRICD held its first NCO Induction Ceremony June 25 at the Aberdeen Proving Grounds Edgewood Arsenal. USAMRICD inducted four NCOs at this ceremony. The Detachment Sergeant, Sgt. 1st Class Timothy Frock, had the new NCOs raise their right hands and recite the Charge to the Non-Commissioned Officer. Once the Charge was recited, they inductees signed the Charge to confirm their obligations and responsibilities as non-commissioned officers.

The guest speaker of the ceremony was Command Sgt. Maj. Michael Kelley of the Medical Research and Materiel Command. He provided a speech designed to inspire, motivate and encourage each of these new members to strive to exceed all expectations as the newest leaders of America’s Army and emphasized the role of great leaders, which are the young non-commissioned officers.

Each inductee was handed a framed copy of the Creed of the Non-Commissioned Officer by Kelley as well as a copy of FM7-22.7, the Army Noncommissioned Officer Guide by USAMRICD’s Senior Enlisted Advisor.

Frock went on to say, "I was truly honored to be a part of this highly important event."

The inductees were Sgt. Erin Bouligny, Sgt. Nydia Conder, Sgt. Felix Huang and Sgt. Zachary Phillips, all assigned to USAMRICD.

Last Modified Date: 01-Jul-2010